Pre-Soccer Breakfast

Izzy had her first Saturday soccer scrimmage. Her team had a bye week this week so they just scrimmaged to get the hang of the game a little more. We had to be at the field by 8:45 am, which for us is a big deal. On the weekend we don’t usually get anywhere before 10 am ( and 10 am takes a fair amount of effort). That’s because Brian and I prefer to lounge around on weekend mornings. Yes, we may be awake at the same time as during the week but we aren’t putting in the effort to be ready for anything until after we have hung around and had breakfast together as a family. For days like today when we have to be somewhere early I like to plan for something I can pop in the oven while I shower and dress so that when I’m ready so is breakfast. My current go-to early weekend morning breakfast is baked oatmeal. It takes me all of ten minutes the night before to get everything ready and then I just put it in the oven when I get up and an hour later my family is enjoying hot scrumptious breakfast. Plus, the kids love baked oatmeal and the flavor combinations are endless. Oh, and the fruit is usually already included in the dish so no additional washing and chopping for me, bonus!

Today’s baked oatmeal is pineapple coconut, which I adapted from this recipe (they ate the carrot cake version for Easter breakfast and absolutely adored it). What I love about this recipe is that it’s vegan and the sweetener is maple syrup. Instead of adding carrots and all the typical carrot cake spices I simply added chopped pineapple, about 1/2 cup pineapple juice, and shreddy unsweetened coconut. It smelled amazing while it was cooking and tasted excellent. To give it a little crunch I like to turn the oven up for the last-minute or so, great additional texture. We serve with a little extra almond milk to cool it down and add to the creaminess.

wpid-imag1341.jpg

Leave a Reply

