All Day in the Kitchen

Really, I did spend pretty much all day in the kitchen. Lexi and I got started on a birthday cake I was making for a friend’s birthday party first thing this morning. Now, I know this is supposed to be a blog about what I feed my family and cake is not really what I feed them. However, cake making is quite a process! We mixed the cake up this morning (lemon blueberry, in case you wondered). Once Izzy came home from school she watched me make the cream cheese frosting and then I filled the cake and chilled it. After it was nice and cold I carved it into a keg shape and frosted it.

Sounds easy enough right? But what about the stacks of dishes in my kitchen and frosting covered knives? Oh yeah, and I didn’t think I could get away with just salad for dinner because Brian was out in the crazy weather working on our truck, something warm to eat might be nice.
I wanted to make quiche but there were no fresh veggies in my fridge other than greens and jalapeños. Mexican quiche would work! I used my favorite crust recipe here (made with oats and almonds) and made up the rest. You really can’t go wrong with beans, onions, jalapeños, garlic, zucchini, leftover grilled corn, and eggs.

wpid-imag1384.jpg

I layered my quiche with lettuce, avocado, radish, olives and salsa to make it taco style. The girls just had all that stuff next to their quiche.

Good news my kitchen looks almost normal again! Pictures of the cake will come tomorrow (there is one last step that I still need to do but I’m done with my kitchen for tonight).

One thought on “All Day in the Kitchen

  1. Pingback: Can’t Win Them All | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

