Mother’s Day

My family made me a little list of chores they were going to do for me today so that I could relax. They also provided suggestions for my relaxation activities: take a bath, read a book , drink tea, etc. The best part was how excited they were to do chores for me. What I love the most though is that Isabelle turned into the relaxation police. As she checked chores off her list she pointed out to me that I had done none of the things on the list while they had done a number of things on their list. The rest of the day continued on this way with little reminders that I had not completed my list. Too funny! This evening she suggested that I knock out those relaxing tasks by doing them all at once: read a book while drinking tea in a bath and then in bed. Oh, Izzy what will we do with you!

Anyways, for lunch I made them Zucchsgetti (yep, I’m coining that!). Zucchini noodles with pasta sauce and a some chick peas for good measure.

wpid-imag1395.jpg

I was really excited to make cilantro pesto with all the cilantro leftover from my Bountiful Basket. I used about 2 cups of loosely packed cilantro, 1/2 cup of hemp seeds, garlic, 2 tbsp of lemon juice, olive oil to thin, a pinch of salt, and splash of lime juice. I served my pesto over carrot and zucchini noodles. Brian was gone running and he doesn’t love cilantro so this was definitely a my style lunch. I loved it!

wpid-imag1396.jpg

This afternoon the fam and grandpa went fishing for the girls’  first time. Technically my first time too but I did not actually fish so I’m not sure it counts. We went to a U Fish place so they could practice and be basically guaranteed to catch something. Isabelle loved it!! She was giggling every time she caught a fish and was so pumped to just keep doing it over and over. Lexi, like anything, was into for a bit, then not, then yes, then no. She did end up catching one but she was a little more turned off by the process. And then, we at those fish for dinner! I breaded the smaller ones with crumbs made of Dave’s Killer bread and we baked the big one with a little butter and lemon juice and herbs.  The rest of dinner was simple, some green beans, brown basmati rice, and a salad.

wpid-imag1418.jpg

The fish dinner was a huge success. Lexi ate all her fish immediately and more. Both the breaded fish and the baked fish turned out excellent. I don’t cook a lot of fish and I usually overcook it but these were perfect! A simple Mother’s Day (my favorite kind) and a great day.

 

 

Leave a Reply

