I’m Addicted to Blueberries

I woke up on Mother’s Day thinking about ice cream and mentioned to Brian that I was considering making some homemade ice cream for dessert. The flavor possibilities are endless if you make your own! There was no one flavor really coming to mind. He responded with blueberry because I have been on a blueberry kick. Hmm…blueberry crumble flavored ice cream with little chunks that resemble crust. That sounds like a winner but I didn’t have any canned coconut milk to make the custard for ice cream. How about just plain old blueberry crumble. Easier and way more blueberries per bite than in ice cream!

Blueberry crumble ice cream will have to wait for another day (unless I eat the Costco size bag of blueberries in the freezer first!). My blueberry crumble recipe is easy and like most of my other recipes not very accurate. The crumble is great over a lot of other fruits as well. The taste and texture varies based on how much and what I decided to put in. Generally, though, I layer a pie pan with fruit of choice (blueberries, blueberries!!!). In my food processor I chop up about 2 cups of nuts (walnuts, almonds, pecans, or all three) and 1/4 cup of oats to coarse crumbs. Next, I add 1 tbsp of coconut oil, 2 tbsp of peanut butter, pinch of salt, and 2 tbsp of honey. I process this until it starts sticking together a bit adding more oil, peanut butter, or honey as needed to get a slightly sticky crumble. After eating a few spoonfuls to make sure the flavor is right (necessary step!) I spoon over the blueberries and bake at 350 degrees until the toppings brown and the fruit is bubbly (about 30 mins).

wpid-imag1421.jpg

I really could eat the whole pan. This was how much was left after I served Brian and my bowls, ha ha. Now, I must make him something to eat tonight so I can have the rest of this for myself!

One thought on “I’m Addicted to Blueberries

  1. Pingback: Between Vacations | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

