Garden Fail

I grilled dinner tonight so I could work on my garden. Hubby brought me home some soil to mix into my raised bed and I had a lofty goal of getting the bed all pretty and ready to be planted (since I have already slacked off for this long). Unfortunately I managed to grill a great dinner but got very little gardening done. There is always tomorrow, right?

We had grilled veggie bowls tonight. I used a stir fry mix with various colored peppers, snap peas, onions, broccoli, cauliflower, mushrooms, and peas. For the last few minutes I stirred in a power green mix (wonderful giant bag from Costco with chard, spinach, and some other greens) until wilted. We had a little leftover rice to go under the veggie mix and beans went on top. These veggie bowls were dressed with soy sauce and sesame oil and red pepper flakes for the grown ups.

wpid-imag1427.jpg

Isabelle finished her bowl long before I did! Lexi took forever to eat.

While we were eating I had nut granola cooking on the grill. For nut granola I use about 2 cups of walnuts or pecans (or other large nut) and chop them in the food processor until crumbly. I add these to a big bowl with various other nuts and seeds (about 1 1/2 cups), 1/4 cup shreddy unsweetened coconut, and a pinch of salt. To a small bowl I melt 2 tbsp coconut oil, 1 tbsp peanut butter and 2 tbsp honey. The coconut oil mixtures gets added to the nut mixture until well coated. I cook this on a  baking sheet at 325 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes turning over once. Unfortunately, I was distracted reading to the girls at dinner and my poor nut granola was blackened. I whipped up a smaller second batch and watched it much closer and got this:

wpid-imag1429-1.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

