Blueberry Crumble Ice Cream

I finally made it! And now I’m just about out of blueberries =(

Earlier I mentioned how weird last week had been. We never actually got a normal day so I don’t have much in the way of what we ate posts. We unexpectedly went out to dinner on Friday and Saturday was all kinds of not going as planned. Isabelle had a soccer game Saturday and it happened to be a gorgeous day. The kind of day you want to eat ice cream on, especially after sitting outside watching a soccer game with your favorite people (we were joined by my dad and Brian’s mom, quite the cheering crowd for Miss Iz).

Since Isabelle is lactose-intolerant ice cream is a rare treat. I don’t love the idea of having to give her pills in order for her to enjoy ice cream. Bet you can guess how I get around that. I make ice cream for us to enjoy! A few years ago I bought a really basic ice cream maker on super clearance at the end of the season. I figured that not paying crazy prices for a small pint of dairy-free ice cream would easily make up for the cost of the ice cream maker. It definitely does and we get to experiment with flavors.

The ice cream base recipe (this and this put together) I use is made of canned coconut milk and is sweetened with honey. To the ice cream base I added pureed blueberries. We weren’t going to for basic blueberry ice cream here so to add to the yum factor I made blueberry chia seed jam and crumbles using this chocolate chip cookie dough balls (minus the chocolate chips!) recipe.

wpid-imag1488.jpg

Once the ice cream is made the blueberry chia jam and crumbles get gently folded in.

wpid-imag1489.jpg

Blueberry ice cream with blueberry jam ribbons and chunks of crumble. And it’s dairy-free and honey sweetened!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumble Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: It’s My Birthday | Food to Live By

  2. Pingback: Back to School Celebration, Round 2?! | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

