The Lunch Bunch

The best lunches are those that are leftovers from dinner. Brian takes lunch to work more often than not so he gets first priority on the dinner leftovers and whatever else may be in the fridge (as much as I want them for myself). If I happen to make enough and/or the family doesn’t go crazy eating all the food the girls and I will occasionally get leftovers.

Usually, though, I am making them a lunch and me a lunch daily (no idea what I’m going to do when Izzy has to bring lunch to school everyday, eek!!). And since we don’t have any activities scheduled during the lunch hour right now we get the luxury of eating lunch at home. The three of us are the lunch bunch. We eat pretty much all of our meals sitting down together as a family. We think it’s important to share that time together rather than just trying to get it over with.

Most of my time is put into what the girls are going to have for lunch so I typically throw a salad together for myself. No complaints from me, I love salads and I try to keep plenty of pre-mixed salads and salad add-ins in the fridge for quick assembly. The girls’ lunch varies more depending on what we have going on that day. Lots of snacks at school results in lots of veggies for lunch. Or wraps for dinner means no tortillas for lunch.

Here are some of the things they have eaten this week:

wpid-imag1480.jpg

Ground turkey, edamame, and farro (a first try for us very similar in texture and taste to wheat berries) with seasonings and oil. Next to that we have cooked carrots, pickle, and daikon slices.

wpid-imag1502.jpg

Crunchy peanut butter on celery, cooked green beans topped with olive oil, eggs, and almonds, and grapes.

wpid-imag1504.jpg

Peanut butter raisin filled banana, olives, broccoli, and carrot.

wpid-imag1503.jpg

And technically, this was dinner the other night. A quick easy lunch inspired dinner since we got home late and needed dinner within minutes. Chickpea salad lettuce sandwich (Oh She Glows cookbook), watermelon, veggies, and ranch dip.

I try for variety not only in the lunch itself but from day-to-day. In the past they would eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches over and over and over, to the point I was tired of making them! Going breadless takes some creative thinking but at least they are trying all sorts of things. I probably need to take my own advice and eat less salads (who says that?!) for more of a variety in my lunch but I find salads to be very versatile so maybe I can just call it good and eat all the salads I want to.

 

 

 

One thought on “The Lunch Bunch

  1. Pingback: Wheat Free for Me | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

