Another Soccer Saturday

Izzy’s soccer game was again during lunch time. I guess we are the only family that cares about this. I pack us a lunch and we eat on the sidelines. Ha, we even bring a small table to set the food on. Cheering with carrots and peanut butter on our mouths, we are quite the site.

In addition to carrots and peanut butter I brought watermelon, salads, and raw buckwheat porridge parfaits. The parfaits were a new recipe and I wasn’t sure how they would go over. The raw buckwheat is soaked overnight then drained and mixed up with chia seeds, almonds milk, cinnamon, and honey. The mixture turns into a porridge type consistency but it’s cold.

wpid-imag1530.jpg

These were topped with strawberries, nut granola, mini chocolate chips, and a drizzle of honey. All those toppers helped get the family excited about the parfait. BTW Isabelle’s team won their soccer game and she was so close twice to scoring her first goal. She has really stepped up as a player.

Let’s see what else did we do today? Not a whole lot. My dad came over to discuss the coming weekend’s camping menu. I am very fearful of the menu because it is filled with meat. My sister and her family are coming out to visit us one of the days so in order to accommodate them and my dad and really everyone else we made a very meat heavy menu. Ahhhh! I’m going to need a giant shelf full of salad mix and a ton of soup to help me get through this trip (salad for breakfast is definitely going to happen for me).

We grilled veggie burgers while the girls ran through the sprinkler (our first sprinkler event of the year!). We love to grill more than one meal at a time because the charcoal stays hot for such a long time. So after the burgers were done I threw on some Almond Joy Cookies. Wow, these cookies were good! I made some changes to use chickpea flour and flax seeds in place of the oat flour. My dad is definitely not a health food eater but he went back for more of these cookies. Of course, we all loved them and I’m trying to not devour the last few of them just typing this up.

wpid-imag1534.jpg

Leave a Reply

