Zucchsgetti

Oh yeah!

Even though we had spaghetti last week when I asked about this week’s menu Brian wanted zucchini spaghetti (zucchsgetti). Sure, why not? Since I make a meal plan every week we don’t tend to eat the same things so close together (ha, except for me and my salad) but there are always exceptions. Ooo, like when I want Mexican twice in one week. =)

Technically this is yellow squash and zucchini spaghetti since that is what I had on hand but I’m still calling it zucchsgetti. To make the meal different from last week I added smashed black beans and mushrooms to the sauce. I also pureed some cashews with the sauce to make it a creamy red sauce. Yum!

wpid-imag1606.jpg

The zucchgetti had vegan cheese sprinkled on top (almonds, nutritional yeast, and salt). Side salads, of course. I can never seem to make enough of the zucchini “noodles” for this meal. Every time I feel like I add a whole extra zucchini and still don’t end up with enough leftovers! Tonight, I used two zucchinis and a yellow squash for the four of us. Since the sauce was loaded with beans, cashews, and mushrooms it was very filling and made up for the fact that we didn’t have a lot of zucchini noodles. Winner, winner zucchsgetti dinner!

Leave a Reply

