Speady Dinner and Friday Equals Cookies

Well, the girls had way too much fun at the birthday party. What that means is they both complained of stomaches before we left. When we got home I intended on making soup for me to eat and have leftovers to feed them for breakfast. Instead, Brian and I devoured Spiced Red Lentil Soup (Oh She Glows) with no leftovers. Oops! So I let the girls have oatmeal for breakfast and made a brothy soup for lunch.

The soup was a spin-off of hot and sour soup without the hot and with some honey for sweetness (maybe it can be a sweet and sour soup?). They got to finish off the rest of the veggie salad with some cantaloupes.

wpid-imag1663.jpg

For dinner I prepped this speedy three bean salad during lunch. It really was speedy! Most of the time on this dinner was spent whisking the dressing ingredients together (such hard work, right? ha!). The three bean salad has red beans, chickpeas, and green beans. I also used roasted red pepper and chopped kale. And the dressing is mostly lemon juice (told you, I’m on a lemon dressing kick) with a little apple cider vinegar and dijon mustard. The three bean salad was so easy and delicious, a definite keeper! In fact, I’m thinking of making some to bring to a Fourth of July party (at least then I will have something I can feel good about eating). To contrast the cold salad I cooked some sweet potato fries and served it all with some more salad (lettuce salad).

wpid-imag1665.jpg

Don’t worry that fry plate is the family style plate that we place on the table and grab from. That is not Brian’s plate (although I’m sure he wouldn’t complain if it was). While the fries kind of steal the show the three bean salad was well-loved too.

Since I didn’t have to make dinner during my usual dinner prep time I made cookies. Chocolate chunk chocolate cookies! I did adapt these cookies to use almond/peanut flour and chickpea flour instead of the oat flour to make them grain free. Not only are they yummy and very richly chocolatey they are vegan, refined sugar free, and my version is also grain free! Cookies that are a treat but won’t leave us craving sugar the next day.

wpid-img_20140627_204625.jpg

This picture really does not do justice to the chocolatey goodness of these cookies. There are chunks of dark chocolate that you just can’t see but you can definitely taste. I’m hoping to use some of these cookies in a toned down version of cheesecake for me to celebrate Brian’s 30th birthday on Monday. He is not a fan of cake but is a huge fan of an oreo cheesecake I made some years ago and it has become tradition that it is birthday treat every year. Just wait until you see the beauty of that cheesecake. No it is not the picture of health but it beautiful and rich looking (and tasting) and it’s a birthday, 30th at that!, so we will live it up (except me who will eat a no sugar version so I can function the next day, ha!).

 

 

2 thoughts on “Speady Dinner and Friday Equals Cookies

  1. Pingback: Saturday – Low Key | Food to Live By

  2. Pingback: Back to School Celebration, Round 2?! | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

