Lexi’s Favorite

Lexi has been asking me about macaroni and cheese rather frequently lately. I don’t know what it is about macaroni and cheese that kids gravitate towards. Isabelle ate so much macaroni and cheese when she was little that I couldn’t bare to buy another box. And mostly, I don’t. In very special circumstances I will allow the girls to have Annie’s boxed macaroni (they love the Arthur and bunny shaped pasta!). Other than that it is homemade cheese sauce, just say no to cheese powder!!

So I made her the beloved cheese sauce. The easiest and most kid approved recipe I have found for homemade cheese sauce is from the Deceptively Delicious cookbook. It’s  made with cauliflower puree which gives it a creaminess I haven’t found in any other recipe. In a pinch, I skip the cauliflower puree and add more milk. Cauliflower is a coveted item around our house and very tough to keep in stock. If we have it, I’m dreaming of the million way I’d love to use it and one of those is not pureed to add to something else. Unfortunately, to get the girls to really love the sauce I do have to add a little velveeta (oh, the shame!).  Win some and lose some.

The cheese sauce was stirred into some cooked spaghetti squash, peas, and spinach. No actual noodles so I guess it’s not really macaroni and cheese but the sentiment of macaroni and cheese is there and the girls thought it was good just the same. I added some mushed white beans for heartiness (this has become regular for me).

wpid-imag1668.jpg

For the adults I made the pumpkin cheeze sauce from here. It’s made of almond milk, nutritional yeast, and pumpkin. The girls cannot seem to get on board with this sauce but I think it’s a great substitute for cheese sauce. Brian’s bowl has a little of each so he could sample the vegan cheeze and actual cheese sauces.

The spaghetti squash I cooked was huge! So we got to have this meal for lunch as well. The beauty of the vegan cheeze sauce is that it reheats so well. Not so true for actual cheese sauce. It’s never as creamy as it was when it was first made.

We’ve had a lot of cheese recently and I’m glad that my cheese stock is running low. That will force me to use less and will be better for everyone’s tummies. No pizza, macaroni, etc on the meal plan this week!

 

One thought on “Lexi’s Favorite

  1. Pingback: Sunday Dinner | Food to Live By

Leave a Reply

