Carrot Pasta for Girls Only Dinner

We had a wonderful adventurous day. At the start of summer break we came up with a list of things we would like to do over summer. One of the things was have a beach day where we would head out to a nearby beach and just spend the day there. We had a free day (i.e. no planned activities at the YMCA) and the weather was incredibly nice so we had our beach day! I packed us lunch, snacks, lots of water, and plenty of extra clothes and we headed to Tacoma to a park that has a beach front (rocky with a little bit of sand), a playground, a sprayground, trails, and plenty of picnic areas. It was amazing! That park kept us busy for hours and we all enjoyed the day.

Once we got home, I didn’t want to spend a lot of time cooking over the stove or definitely not in the oven (it was 91 degrees outside). Truth be told I was exhausted from our day. (How come I’m always more worn out than the kids?) Dinner needed to be fresh and not too complex.

This carrot and yellow squash primavera from here was a great end to a great day.

wpid-imag1692.jpg

The carrots and yellow squash are raw and act as noodles at the bottom of the bowl. Sauteed onions, garlic, asparagus, and edamame are put over the noodles with some chickpeas and artichoke hearts. I topped my bowl with sun-dried tomato, cilantro, spinach pesto. Mmmmm! The girls didn’t love the pesto, they are pesto traditionalists. For me, anything with cilantro hooks me and this pesto has my heart. I may have loaded a lot of it into my dinner bowl and leftovers bowl (for breakfast) and have very little left. Bummer, I could eat that pesto on everything! And I would have to since the girls don’t like it and Brian is not much of a cilantro lover.

These bowls are way too full. None of us could finish our bowls, too many veggies filling us up. I’m really liking how everything gets put together in a bowl these days and I don’t have to tell Lexi to stop eating whatever and eat more of the vegetables. If it’s all vegetables mixed together in a bowl, it’s all a win!

Leave a Reply

