Celebration Day

We celebrated the end of the school year, the end of soccer, and the completion of Brian’s marathon all in our Super Celebration Saturday. We celebrate with food =) and sometimes by watching a family movie (Monsters Inc. this time). The day would have been a little more celebratory except that Lexi didn’t take a nap two days in a row and was not feeling well.

wpid-imag1633.jpg             Izzy at her last soccer game!

One of our favorite family night activities is making homemade pizza. It has been a long time since we’ve done it and the super celebration day seemed like the perfect day (aside from the fact that Izzy had pizza for lunch at her soccer party-though our pizza is much more real than what she ate).

My current favorite regular pizza crust recipe is this honey wheat pizza crust. I say regular because the past few times I’ve made pizza we go for a really thin crust. I have probably ten pizza crust recipes that I use based on what we’re feeling. Brian’s pizza was chicken, bacon, ranch (with some bonuses like roasted broccoli). The girls like to mound whatever we’ve got on their pizza. Their pizza is separate because they love olives on it and Brian can’t stand olives. And lastly, I make my own pizza because I cannot handle a regular pizza crust. Instead, I use a low carb wrap or some other option for my pizza. I tried out a new recipe for a giant chickpea flour pancake that I used as the crust and topped with sauce, veggies and almond vegan cheese. Unfortunately, my chickpea flour pancake did not stay together and required me to use a fork. It was less like a pizza but still tasty.

wpid-img_20140621_183246.jpg

After eating so much pizza I had to give them a little pie to complete celebration day. The official unveiling of the pie flavor: Ferrero Rocher Pie. The candies are one of Brian’s favorite things so the pie attempts to recreate the flavors. I adapted the recipe to use a toasted hazelnut crust and added in some wafer cookies to the filling.

wpid-imag1631.jpg

The pie was delicious. Toasted hazelnut crust, cream cheese and Nutella filling, and whipped cream with chunks of Ferrero Rocher candies inside. To top off that I shaved some dark chocolate and chopped up some toasted hazelnuts.

The celebration continues as we have a ton of pizza and pie leftover. And since there was so much pizza dough I saved some to make cinnamon rolls for breakfast. It is a super celebration weekend! Tomorrow we kickoff our first week of summer with swim lessons, dance classes, and some summer learning. I’m looking forward to spending time together, making memories, and spending time at home.

 

One thought on “Celebration Day

Leave a comment